“my race, too, is queer”

Jun 17, 2008

This line is a quote from one of my favorite experimental documentaries–“transgressions” by Stuart Gaffney. He identifies himself as a queer Eurasian, and argues that his Eurasian racial identity is just as queer–that is, as transgressive–as his sexuality.

This idea really makes sense to me. In another part of the film he says, “I’m not bisexual, but I should be”–with the argument here being that the way he understands his sexuality is related to the way he understands his race–that he is the product of two people who decided that they could love across racial boundaries. Similarly, Gafney feels that he should be able to love without gender boundaries.

This perfectly describes how I feel as a Bi (sexual) Bi (racial) woman.

This entry was posted in Asian American, Mixed Race, Queer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.